Food Accelerators: Trends to Watch

food accelerator

Food accelerators are mission critical to the new food movement. They represent what’s new, what’s hot, and what’s on the rise in the industry. 

We did a bit of analysis and outlined some trends in the graphic below. The small makers represented by these accelerators are pushing the boundaries with brand-new ingredients, value propositions and even categories.

So who is behind food accelerators? An eclectic group of foodies, tech leaders, restauranteurs, real estate mavens, and local governments all play a big roll in the twelve food and beverage accelerators we dug into for this report. 

Big Food companies such as PepsiCo, Chobani, Land O’ Lakes, Nestlé and many others are visibly at the forefront. It’s no wonder that they want to associate themselves with these brands! Even as they double down on their regular craziness, they can take advantage of the nimble, creative nature of these startups. Their accelerator infrastructure offers investment, mentorship, connections and much more.

We set out to identify the twelve most interesting F&B accelerators in the US, drill down to find out what brands were in their most recent cohort, and the food trends these accelerators represented. Want to learn more about any of the companies or food accelerators? Links below!

Love the Foodboro blog? Get our best content delivered to your inbox, weekly.

food acceleratorsClick to enlarge. Created in January 2019 by Foodboro staff and friends.

(Note: As we built this map, we looked at food and beverage accelerators of all shapes and sizes, who were operating at least one cohort.  We also looked at which active accelerators were helping their cohorts in innovative ways – no matter what stage the accelerator, or their cohorts. And “accelerator” is a rather amorphous term! Our final criteria was that each chosen group had to self-identify as an accelerator. From there, we compiled a list of over 140 cohort companies, then focused on the latest cohort companies and plotted overall product trends at each accelerator.)

 COMPANY :: INSTAGRAM :: PRODUCT TYPE

Nutrition GreenhousePepsiCo’s collaborative accelerator

Bohana  ::  @bohanalife  ::  popped water lily seeds (check them out on our blog!)

IQBar  :: @eatiqbar  ::  bar

Hapi Drinks  :: @hapidrinks  ::  kids’ drink

Remedy Organics  :: @remedyorganics ::  plant based drink

Rule Breakers  :: @rulebreakersnacks  ::  snack

Sophie’s Kitchen  :: @veganseafood ::  plant based seafood

Too Fit  :: @toofit ::  nutritional supplement

Torii Labs  :: @toriilabs  ::  plant based drink

Wildway  :: @wildwayoflife ::  snack

YoFiit :: @yofiit  ::  plant based food & beverage

Chobani Incubator: Bring better food to more people

Haven’s Kitchen  :: @havenskitchen  ::  sauces

Ithaca Cold Crafted  :: @ithacacoldcrafted  ::  hummus

MatchaBar  :: @matchabar  :: matcha drink

Partake Foods  :: @partakefoods  ::  allergy friendly snack

Supernatural Kitchen  :: @gosupernatural  ::  plant based food coloring

Tea Squares  :: @myteasquares  ::  snack

Land O’ LakesMinneapolis-Saint Paul located, helping companies achieve meaningful growth

Beehive Cheese  :: @beehivecheese  ::  cheese

Petit Pot  :: @petitpot  ::  french-style desserts

Dreaming Cow  :: @dreamingcow  ::  yogurt

Jouzge  :: @jouzge  ::  snack

Yooli  :: @yoolifoods  ::  snack

Blue Marble :: @bluemarblebk  ::  ice cream

Darling Pickel Dips  :: @darlingpickledips  ::  snack

Norr Skyr  :: @norrskyr  ::  yogurt

Numa Foods  :: @numafoods  ::  milk chews

Smash Pack  :: @smashpack  ::  protein smoothie packs

Tulip Tree Creamery  :: @tuliptreecreamery  ::  cheese & butter

Terra Accelerator: The Food & Ag Tech Accelerator, by Rabobank+RocketSpace

Good Spread  :: @helpgoodspread  ::  nut butter

Here  :: @heredotco  ::  cold pressed juices, dressings, spreads

Jackson’s Honest  :: @jacksonshonest  ::  chips

Miyokos  :: @miyokoscreamery ::  plant based cheese

Food-X: In NYC and on a mission to scale change throughout our food system

Abbot’s Butcher  :: @abbotsbutcher  ::  plant-based meat

Uplift Food  :: @upliftfood::  prebiotic

Vitox Vinegar  :: @vitoxvinegar ::  drinking vinegar

Planetarians  :: @planetariansnet  ::  alternative protein

Naughty Noah’s  :: @naughtynoahs  ::  vegan vietnamese pho

Springboard: Kraft Heinz accelerator nurturing & scaling disruptive US brands

Ayoba-yo :: @ayobayousa  ::  handcrafted beef sticks

Cleveland Kraut  :: @CLEkraut  ::  raw sauerkraut

Kumana Foods  :: @kumanafoods  ::  avocado sauce

Poppilu  :: @drinkpoppilu  ::  antioxidant beverage

Quevos  :: @eatquevos  ::  snack

Union Kitchen AcceleratorDC-based with kitchen, distribution, & grocery stores

Tortilladora  :: @tortilladora  ::  salsa

Ripe Gelato  :: @ripegelato  ::  vegan gelato

Blue Crate  :: @blue_crate  ::  dairy alternative

8Myles  :: @8mylesllc  ::  mac & cheese

Good Food AcceleratorGets emerging CPG brands ready for prime time in ORD

Frönen  :: @eatfronen  ::  non dairy ice cream

Bronzeville Sausage Co.  :: @bronzvillesausage.co  ::  meat

Chicago Kale Chip Co.  :: @Chicagokalechipco  ::  snack

Kolossos  :: @kolossoslife  ::  olive oil

Matt-n-Mike’s  :: @mattnmikes ::  snack

Moon Meals  :: @moonmealsfood  ::  plant based meal kits

Within / Without  :: @withinwithoutsnacks  ::  nut based granola

Unicreamer  :: @unicreamer  ::  plant based coffee creamer

Sacred Serve  :: @sacredserve  ::  vegan ice cream

ZenSweet  :: @zensweetlife  ::  gluten free baking mixes

Plug and Play: SFO based three month accelerator programs 2x/year

PERKii.  :: @perkiiprobiotics  ::  probiotic beverage

Super Eats  :: @supereats  ::  snack

Prime Roots  :: @primeroots  ::  fungi

Zen Basil  :: @zenbasil  ::  plant based prebiotic

Asarasi  :: @asari  ::  plant based water

SKU :: AUS based consumer products accelerator

Chinook  :: @chinookseedery  ::  snack

Guiltless Goodies  :: @guiltless_goodies  ::  super food snack

Meridian Hive  :: @mericianhive  ::  mead beverage

Pure Spoon :: @pure_spoon  ::  allergy friendly baby food

Sway Water  :: @swaywater  ::  beverage

Smallman Galley ::  PGH’s restaurant accelerator

RelishPGH :: @relish.pgh  ::  vegan donuts

Crumb  :: @crumb.pgh  ::  vegan pop up

Ba-Co  :: @baco_pgh  ::  southern bbq tacos

Banhmilicious  :: @bmliciouspgh  ::  sustainably sourced vietnamese

Future Food Co :: Accelerator for mission-driven established food businesses

Zoni Foods :: @zonifoods  ::  plant based frozen foods

Meta Brew  :: @themetabrew  ::  beverage

Jewels of the Forest  :: @shroomsnack  ::  mushroom jerky

_____________________________________

When we aren’t making infographics, we make newsletters. Check ours out here.

Get the Newsletter

Our weekly newsletter contains everything a food entrepreneur needs to stay current, share connections, and succeed in the business. Sign up for interviews with experts, insights from peers, and all the most relevant industry news. Don’t get caught without the resource every foodpreneur is talking about. Subscribe now!